Nursing

Retirement Home Redesigned!

I’m sure many of you have seen a post similar to this one floating around the internet, but I was so taken aback when I saw it for myself, I has to write about it. One man created a retirement home that is exactly like a town, specialized for those with Dementia and Alzheimer’s Disease.

As you can see from the photo above, it appears to look like separate houses, but inside a building. I suppose the idea was to allow residents to have their own porch, their own ‘home’. BRILLIANT! In the many articles I read on this facility, I came across some interested details. For example, the lights dim as the day goes on, so resident’s are more aware of the time of day. Another cool feature is that it is equipped with multiple little bistros, where staff serve resident meals, etc. The list goes on and on about all the interesting features this facility has!

If I ever got the chance to work in a facility like this, I would be honoured!

Leave a Reply

